Science Olympiad

MES is a proud sponsor of the Science Olympiad, a national contest with existing school involvement in the state.  The Science Olympiad is a competition held in March in Mississippi with the finalists from the state competition attending the National Science Olympiad in May.  The Olympiad consists of numerous events within the categories of Life, Personal & Social Science, Earth & Space, Physical Science & Chemistry, Technology & Engineering, and finally, Inquiry & Nature of Science.  These events have titles such as Junkyard Challenge, Mission Impossible, Mousetrap Vehicle and Towers, which is very similar to our model contest.  Each participating school fields a team for whichever events they choose to participate in, with most schools having heavy participation in the Technology and Engineering category because they get to build and tear up things there.  The Olympiad itself is conducted like a game show, making participation by the teams fun.

MES members are encouraged to get involved as advisors for teams, judges, and/or helpers with event coordination.  To encourage this participation, a listing of the schools which have been actively participating is provided below with the name of the team coaches.  Please review this list and contact the school(s) nearest you to offer your personal support to this exciting competition which introduces and fosters interest in science and engineering.

Junior High/Middle School

  • Petal Middle School, Karen Huddleston, Petal
  • Bayou View Middle School, Daniele Edwards, Gulfport
  • West Wortham Middle School, Janice Marie Ferguson, Saucier
  • Germantown Middle School, Melissa Foles, Madison
  • Germantown Middle School, Allan Nolan, Madison
  • Chastain Middle, Sherrye Biglow, Jackson
  • West Wortham Middle School, Jodi Mitchell, Saucier
  • Trinity Episcopal Day School, Julie Timm, Natchez
  • Ocean Springs Middle School, Patrick Quinnelly, Ocean Springs
  • Biloxi Junior High School, Syhann Shoemake, Biloxi
  • Parklane Academy, Anthony DeLee, McComb
  • St. Aloysius High School, Kara McDermott, Vicksburg
  • Hancock Middle School, Elizabeth Brown, Kiln
  • Amite County High School, Shirline Hampton, Liberty
  • Pearl River Central Middle School, Rhona Hayes, Carriere
  • Buckatunna Junior High, Kim Hopkins, Buckatunna
  • North Woolmarket Middle School, Dianne Groce, Biloxi
  • North Woolmarket Middle School, Amber Raynor, Biloxi
  • Oxford Middle School, Michael Hougendobler, Oxford
  • Gulfport Central Middle School, Susan Lewis, Gulfport
  • Gulfport Central Middle School, Jessica Arnold, Gulfport
  • Clinton Jr High School, Linda White, Clinton
  • Beat Four School, Linda Pitts, Waynesboro
  • Petal Upper Elementary School, Anya Keen, Petal
  • Petal Upper Elementary School, Karen Fordham, Petal
  • Petal Upper Elementary School, Diane Wolfarth, Petal
  • West Lauderdale Middle School, April McCary, Collinsville
  • West Lauderdale Middle School, Cathy Gordon, Collinsville

High School

  • Caledonia High School, Terry L. Wiygul, Caledonia
  • North Pike High School, Erin Fortenberry, Summit
  • North Pike High School, Melissa Duncan, Summit
  • Wilkinson County Christian Academy, Pamela Leak, Woodville
  • Trinity Episcopal Day School, Michael Kinney, Natchez
  • New Albany High School, Brooke Dillard, New Albany
  • Parklane Academy, Lisa Loper, McComb
  • St. Aloysius High School, Suzie Channell, Vicksburg
  • Madison Central High School, Betsy Sullivan, Madison
  • Amite County High School, Kimberly Ford, Liberty
  • Forrest County AHS, Tommy Sumrall, Brooklyn
  • MSMS, William R. Odom, Columbus
  • Sumner Hill Junior High School, Lynda Collins, Clinton
  • D'Iberville High School, Terry Stebly, Biloxi
  • Clinton High School, Joe Queen, Clinton
  • Greenville-Weston High School, Pamela Ward, Greenville